Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com!


contact me older entries


newest entry



2003-09-14 - 19:57

What do you think about my english? Do you think its marginal?

Answered by: Date: Rating:

branwyn 9/4/2003 9:14 AM Excellent!

I guess I haven't read enough of your writing to really know how your English is displayed. However, if you understand how to use marginal in an English sentence, I think you're doing fairly well.

Respond

moonbaby 9/4/2003 9:22 AM Excellent!

for someone who's first language is not English, i think it's excellent.

i've noted the occasional grammatical and spelling mistakes but not as many as some people i know who have English as their first language.

Respond

YBR 9/4/2003 9:23 AM Excellent!

I read about your trip to Bangkok and you have no difficulty in communicating descriptions and concepts in English.

Respond

Swordsman 9/4/2003 9:24 AM Excellent!

"Marginal"? You mean, whether it's about as good as the Yanks here? *G*

I thinks its just fine. I don't remember ever reading your posts and thinking, "Gee, this person's English sucks." As long as you don't start condensing your words like some people...

(i.e.: you = u, going to = gonna, what = wat, etc...)

Respond

silk 9/4/2003 9:29 AM

and that are usally english native speaker... its only because a good online friend on here told me it was at its best marginal :-(

Respond

sskyeye 9/4/2003 10:09 AM Excellent!

I think your English is much better than marginal. I only notice aoccasional mistakes, and most of them aren't much worse than what even native speakers make. And considering how many languages you speak, I think a comment like that is uncalled for.

Respond

sruane 9/4/2003 11:28 AM Excellent!

Your English is better than my German.

Respond

mdkilmer 9/4/2003 12:36 PM Excellent!

It's WAY above marginal. Sure, occasional mistakes in punctuation, but your grammar is usually better than us native English-speakers. Tell your friend "thanks for the encouraging words" and explain that you're practicing irony.

Respond

ocelotl 9/4/2003 2:04 PM Excellent!

I find it excelent. We non native speakers often are heavily criticized upon our language handling, and often are very exigent to ourselves, since we want our alternate language handling to be as good as our native one.

Respond

zooz 9/4/2003 5:43 PM Excellent!

For a native English speaker it's below average. However for a second language spoken only in conversation it's perfectly acceptable and generally understood.

I know for a fact that I couldn't communicate on any reasonable level in any other language, so I think people should be understanding on the technicalities

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!
0 comments so far


Sign My Guestbook!
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com